Municipal and school board candidates file in Oakdale-Lake Elmo area

The filing period for offices in cities without a primary election closed on Tuesday, Aug. 12, as did filing for seats on local school boards. Candidates who filed by Tuesday's deadline had until 5 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 14, to withdraw their names from the ballots. The general election will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 4.

The following is the list of candidates running for city council and school board positions in the Oakdale-Lake Elmo Review's coverage area:


Mayor, four-year term

Two council seats, four-year terms

Longtime mayor Carmen Sarrack is not running for reelection, nor is council member Kent Dotas.

Council members Stan Karwoski and Paul Reinke will face off in a three-way mayoral race with newcomer Marty Jurgensen. 

Incumbent council member Lori Pulkrabek is running for another term. She and five other candidates will compete for two available spots on the council. Those candidates are: Kristen Cici, Mark Landis, Jon Mast Jr., Bill Rasmussen and Peter Wetzels.

Lake Elmo

Two council seats, four-year terms

The city has two council seats set to expire at the end of the year currently held by council members Mike Reeves and Wally Nelson; both men have filed for reelection.  Challengers Julie Fliflet and Jill Lundgren have also filed to run for spots on the council.

North St. Paul-Maplewood-Oakdale District 622 School Board

Three board seats, four-year terms

Five candiadates have filed to fill three board seats due to expire at year's end, currently held by Amy Coburn, Mark Wheeler and Michelle Yener. 

Wheeler is not seeking another term on the board. 

Caleb Anderson, Bennie Bennett and Danny Porter will compete for the three open board seats with incumbents Coburn and Yener.

Stillwater Area District 834 School Board

Four board seats, four-year terms

Eight candidates are vying for four open board seats in the Stillwater District currently held by Natalie Fede, Natasha Fleishman, George Hoeppner and Tom Lehmann.  

Hoeppner and Lehmann have filed to run for reelction, Fede and Fleishman have not. 

Incumbents Hoeppner and Lehmann will face challengers Fred Anderson, Paul Leindecker, Donald Hovland, Paula O'Loughlin, Shelley Pearson and Aly Xiong.  

— Joshua Nielsen

Rate this article: 
Average: 4 (4 votes)
Comment Here